Thursday, November 24, 2011

Panoramio Account Deletion


Starting today, you can delete your Panoramio account from the Panoramio Settings page.

Deleting a Panoramio account results in the deletion of all the content associated to that account, this being all the photos, comments, etc. When the deletion is a conscious decision, there is no problem, however, when the decision is made by mistake, the owner of the account may end up losing a lot of good content and the memories of the good times spent in Panoramio. For this reason we only allowed account deletion via an email request.

Today, we have made the deletion as simple as a button press, so our users have more control over the content, over their data. However, we still want to be sure that the user takes this decision consciously.

So the process works as follows. If you, as a Panoramio user, wish to delete your account, you will need to empty it first: remove all your photos and resign from all Panoramio groups. After that, you can go to your settings page where the delete option will be available for you.

It is important to notice that by deleting your Panoramio account, you do not delete your Google account nor any other Google service. If what you want is to delete your entire Google Account please refer to this article for more information.

Remember that you will always be able to join Panoramio again in the future if you delete your account, although your content will not be recoverable.

If you happen to have an account that is very big to manually remove the content, you can still send an email to delete@panoramio.com and we will eventually delete the account and the content for you.

Posted by Gerard Sanz, Panoramio Community Manager